Arkansas
- Grounds stated in the sources
- 20 CAR § 400-2505(a)(1) of the Rules for Nursing Homes, in the Code of Arkansas Rules (site last updated 8/31/2026): "A resident may be transferred or discharged only for:" "Medical reasons;" "His or her welfare or the welfare of other residents;" "The resident presents a danger to the safety or health of other residents;" "Because the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;" "Nonpayment for his or her stay; or" "The facility ceases operation." The rule adds that "Medical reasons" for transfer or discharge "Shall be based on the resident's needs; and" "Are to be determined and documented by a physician." (§ 400-2505(a)(3)(B)).
- Notice stated in the sources
- Two periods in the same current Part. § 400-2505(b): "A minimum of thirty (30) days written notice must be given." and (c): "Transfer for the welfare of the resident or other residents may be affected immediately if such action is documented in the medical record." § 400-411(7)(B), in the Part's admission, transfer and discharge policies: "The resident or responsible party will be provided written notification of his or her transfer ten (10) days prior to the transfer." Both are quoted as published. The notice's required content, § 400-2505(d)(2)(A): "The written notice of transfer or discharge shall state the reason for the proposed transfer or discharge." and "The notice shall inform the resident that they have the right to appeal the decision to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services within seven (7) calendar days." "Reasonable notice of transfer or discharge" means the decision "Shall be discussed with the resident; and" "The resident will be told the reason or reasons and alternatives available." (§ 400-2505(a)(3)(C)).
- Hearing office in these sources
- The rule routes the appeal to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services: "An appeals process for residents objecting to transfer or discharge shall be developed by the facility, in accordance with Arkansas Code § 20-10-1005, as amended." (§ 400-2505(d)(1)); the notice must state the seven-calendar-day right to appeal to the Secretary; "The resident must be assisted by the facility in filing the written objection to transfer or discharge;" "Within fourteen (14) days of the filing of the written objections a hearing will be scheduled; and" "A final determination in the matter will be rendered within seven (7) days of the hearing." The rule names no office, address or form. The department's File an Appeal page, which does not mention nursing facility discharges, prints, for the department's administrative hearings generally, "You may email your request to DHS.Appeals@dhs.arkansas.gov or" "You may send your request by mail to:" "Department of Human Services" "Office of Appeals and Hearings" "P.O. Box 1437, Slot S101" "Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437". Whether a transfer or discharge objection under § 400-2505 goes to that office is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- Ombudsman in these sources
- The program's own site, arombudsman.dhs.arkansas.gov, names "Charlotte Sudmeyer" "State Ombudsman" and "Mandy Mercer" "Ombudsman Coordinator", lists regional ombudsmen by region, and offers a county search ("You can search for your local LTC Ombudsman in the table below:"). It prints no telephone number, street address or email address in its text; the contacts sit behind the search. That is what the program publishes on the page captured, and no other first-party page reachable on 2026-09-04 prints the office's number (see change log).
- Sources last checked
- Oct 20, 2026
Reproduced from the agencies' own pages and documents quoted below — potentially relevant official sources, not a determination that any notice, ground, or deadline applies to any situation.
Lede
This page assembles what Arkansas's own publishers state about involuntary transfer and discharge from a nursing home. The fullest single source is 20 CAR § 400-2505, Transfer or discharge, in Subpart 25 (Residents' Rights) of Part 400, the Rules for Nursing Homes, as the Secretary of State publishes it in the Code of Arkansas Rules, which states six grounds, a thirty-day written notice with an immediate-transfer exception, the notice's contents, and a seven-calendar-day appeal to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services with a hearing scheduled within fourteen days. Arkansas's own vocabulary is transfer or discharge of a resident; the rule defines "transfer" as movement from one facility to another and calls the appeal a written objection.
Two publishers hold the pieces, and one of them was hard to reach. The Secretary of State publishes the Office of Long-Term Care's rules; the Department of Human Services publishes its appeals office and its ombudsman program, on a main site that refuses automated fetches and a program site that prints no contact in its text. The federal floor for Medicare/Medicaid-certified facilities is assembled separately on the federal page; nothing here fills a gap from federal law or another state. Confirm applicability with the agencies named in the sources: whether any provision applies to a particular facility, resident, or notice is for the hearing office to determine. Deadlines and periods on this page are quoted from the sources, not calculated for any case.
The grounds, as Arkansas describes them
20 CAR § 400-2505(a), Transfer or discharge (Rules for Nursing Homes, Subpart 25, Residents' Rights) — Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules, site last updated 8/31/2026, no per-section date, retrieved 2026-09-04 — states that "A resident may be transferred or discharged only for:", in the rule's own order:
"Medical reasons;"
"His or her welfare or the welfare of other residents;"
"The resident presents a danger to the safety or health of other residents;"
"Because the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;"
"Nonpayment for his or her stay; or"
"The facility ceases operation."
The rule adds two qualifications reaching the same grounds. "The term "transfer" applies to the movement of the resident from facility to another facility." (§ 400-2505(a)(3)(A)). And "Medical reasons" for transfer or discharge "Shall be based on the resident's needs; and" "Are to be determined and documented by a physician." (§ 400-2505(a)(3)(B)). The rule's own heading for this section reads "6 CAR § 400-2505" where the page's title and citation read "20 CAR § 400-2505"; that is the publisher's text as served, a finding recorded in the change log below and left as found.
The published process
Requesting the hearing
§ 400-2505(d)(1): "An appeals process for residents objecting to transfer or discharge shall be developed by the facility, in accordance with Arkansas Code § 20-10-1005, as amended." (d)(2): "The process shall include:" "The written notice of transfer or discharge shall state the reason for the proposed transfer or discharge." "The notice shall inform the resident that they have the right to appeal the decision to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services within seven (7) calendar days." "The resident must be assisted by the facility in filing the written objection to transfer or discharge;" "Within fourteen (14) days of the filing of the written objections a hearing will be scheduled; and" "A final determination in the matter will be rendered within seven (7) days of the hearing."
No pendency statement is in the sources reviewed: § 400-2505, § 400-2507 (Exercise of rights), and § 400-411 (Admission, transfer, and discharge policies) do not say whether a resident remains at the facility while a written objection is pending. Not stated in the sources reviewed.
The rule names no office, address, or filing form for the Secretary of the Department of Human Services. The department's own File an Appeal page — captured by browser because humanservices.arkansas.gov returns a bare nginx 403 to curl on every path and header set tried — publishes, for the department's administrative hearings generally: "You may email your request to DHS.Appeals@dhs.arkansas.gov or" "You may send your request by mail to:" "Department of Human Services" "Office of Appeals and Hearings" "P.O. Box 1437, Slot S101" "Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437". That page does not mention nursing facility discharges anywhere in its text, and whether a § 400-2505 objection goes to that office is not stated in the sources reviewed.
The notice's required contents
§ 400-2505(a)(3)(C): "Reasonable notice of transfer or discharge" means the decision to transfer or discharge a resident "Shall be discussed with the resident; and" "The resident will be told the reason or reasons and alternatives available." The written notice itself, under (d)(2)(A), "shall state the reason for the proposed transfer or discharge" and "shall inform the resident that they have the right to appeal the decision to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services within seven (7) calendar days". Separately, § 400-411(7)(B) states that "The resident or responsible party will be provided written notification of his or her transfer ten (10) days prior to the transfer." No requirement that the notice carry the ombudsman's contact information is stated in the sources reviewed.
Bed-hold and return
The Department of Human Services' Medical Assistance Program Manual Of Cost Reimbursement Rules For Long Term Care Facilities, Chapter 6 ("(July 1, 1999)" "(Last Revised 08/01/2022)"), states: "Facilities that certify that occupancy levels are eighty-five percent (85%) or greater will be paid up to five (5) consecutive days for a leave of absence (LOA) to the hospital." The same chapter states, for a different kind of leave: "Facilities may bill for up to fourteen consecutive days for therapeutic home visits regardless of the occupancy rate." Its census-coding key marks such days "Paid Hospital Leave, Bed Reserved" and "Paid Therapeutic Home Leave, Bed Reserved". No readmission or return provision accompanies this allowance in the manual, and none is stated in the Office of Long-Term Care's Rules for Nursing Homes (20 CAR Part 400, searched in full for this row). Not stated in the sources reviewed.
The three rows above hoist the questions a facility's counsel answers in the first fifteen minutes. They are quotations from Arkansas's published sources, not a determination that any of them applies to any situation.
Notice periods and deadlines, as stated in the sources
All quoted; none calculated.
Thirty days' written notice — § 400-2505(b): "A minimum of thirty (30) days written notice must be given."
Immediate-transfer exception — § 400-2505(c): "Transfer for the welfare of the resident or other residents may be affected immediately if such action is documented in the medical record."
Ten days' written notification of a transfer — § 400-411(7)(B): "The resident or responsible party will be provided written notification of his or her transfer ten (10) days prior to the transfer." Both this period and the thirty-day period above are stated in the same current Part; neither is reconciled here.
Seven calendar days to appeal — § 400-2505(d)(2)(A): the resident has "the right to appeal the decision to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services within seven (7) calendar days."
Fourteen days to schedule the hearing — § 400-2505(d)(2)(B): "Within fourteen (14) days of the filing of the written objections a hearing will be scheduled; and"
Seven days for a final determination — § 400-2505(d)(2)(C): "A final determination in the matter will be rendered within seven (7) days of the hearing."
Five consecutive days of paid hospital leave — the cost-reimbursement manual, Chapter 6: facilities "will be paid up to five (5) consecutive days for a leave of absence (LOA) to the hospital", conditioned on the occupancy certification the same chapter states.
Fourteen consecutive days of paid therapeutic home leave — the cost-reimbursement manual, Chapter 6: facilities "may bill for up to fourteen consecutive days for therapeutic home visits regardless of the occupancy rate."
What any of these periods means for a particular case is for the hearing office or the relevant state process to determine.
Source map
| Document | Publisher and location | Source's own date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20 CAR § 400-2505, Transfer or discharge (Rules for Nursing Homes, Subpart 25) | Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules | site last updated 8/31/2026; no per-section date | 2026-09-04 |
| 20 CAR § 400-411, Admission, transfer, and discharge policies (Subpart 4) | Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules | site last updated 8/31/2026; no per-section date | 2026-09-04 |
| 20 CAR § 400-2507, Exercise of rights (Subpart 25) | Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules | site last updated 8/31/2026; no per-section date | 2026-09-04 |
| Arkansas Long-Term Care Ombudsman (program site) | Office of Long-Term Care Ombudsman, Arkansas Department of Human Services | none stated on page | 2026-09-04 |
| File an Appeal | Arkansas Department of Human Services | none stated on page | 2026-09-04 (browser capture; not re-verifiable by the automated pass) |
| Medical Assistance Program Manual Of Cost Reimbursement Rules For Long Term Care Facilities, Chapter 6 | Arkansas Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Services (PDF) | "(July 1, 1999)" "(Last Revised 08/01/2022)" | 2026-09-19 (web-fetch capture; not re-verifiable by the automated pass) |
Captured: the four Code and program-site sources in tools/packets/arkansas-packet.txt by recipe; the File an Appeal page in tools/packets/arkansas-packet-dhs.txt by browser; the cost-reimbursement manual's Chapter 6 in tools/packets/arkansas-packet-medicaid.txt by the session's web-fetch tool, the same last-resort status as the File an Appeal capture. Pending: Arkansas Code § 20-10-1005, which the rule cites for the appeals process (the Legislature's code is served through a vendor platform not captured); a department page tying a § 400-2505 objection to the Office of Appeals and Hearings; the Office of Appeals and Hearings' own page, which as rendered carries no filing address; the department's Office of Long-Term Care page and the Rules for Nursing Homes PDF it posts, both on the 403 host; Part 400, Appendix B (Synopsis of Residents' Bill of Rights), which the Code serves only as a PDF link; a first-party statement, if one exists, addressing return to the facility after a paid leave of absence ends.
Change log
2026-10-06 — Internet Archive captures recorded. Captures requested on 2026-09-06 by an automated capture pass and recorded this date; no human review is claimed for this entry. No quotation, date, finding or link above was changed by it. Each capture below was requested through Save Page Now and then confirmed to play back. Captures added: Office of Long-Term Care Ombudsman, Arkansas Department of Human Services → https://web.archive.org/web/20260906130416/https://arombudsman.dhs.arkansas.gov/; Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules → https://web.archive.org/web/20260906130629/https://codeofarrules.arkansas.gov/Rules/Rule?levelType=section&titleID=20&chapterID=38&subChapterID=50&partID=1233&subPartID=7657§ionID=50037; Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules → https://web.archive.org/web/20260906130723/https://codeofarrules.arkansas.gov/Rules/Rule?levelType=section&titleID=20&chapterID=38&subChapterID=50&partID=1233&subPartID=7678§ionID=50213; Arkansas Secretary of State, Code of Arkansas Rules → https://web.archive.org/web/20260906130818/https://codeofarrules.arkansas.gov/Rules/Rule?levelType=section&titleID=20&chapterID=38&subChapterID=50&partID=1233&subPartID=7678§ionID=50215.
2026-09-19 — Deepened to a full page: section 01 (the grounds, as Arkansas describes them) and section 02 (the published process, including the notice's required contents, bed-hold and return, and the notice-periods register) are now written, from the two standing packets plus one newly captured supplement. Newly captured: the Department of Human Services' Medical Assistance Program Manual Of Cost Reimbursement Rules For Long Term Care Facilities, Chapter 6 (Instructions for Daily Midnight Census), which states Arkansas Medicaid's only located bed-hold provision — up to five consecutive days of paid hospital leave, conditioned on the facility's occupancy certification, and up to fourteen consecutive days of paid therapeutic home leave — captured in tools/packets/arkansas-packet-medicaid.txt. Transport: humanservices.arkansas.gov returns a bare nginx 403 to curl on this file over both HTTP/1.1 and HTTP/2, the same host behavior already recorded on 2026-09-04 for the department's main site; the session's web-fetch tool retrieved the PDF where curl could not, and the capture is marked not re-verifiable by the automated pass, the same status already carried by the File an Appeal supplement. Findings, continuing the numbering below: (7) No pendency statement is in the sources reviewed — § 400-2505, § 400-2507, and § 400-411 are silent on whether a resident remains at the facility while a written objection under § 400-2505(d) is pending; the absence is stated in section 02 rather than assumed either way. (8) No readmission or return provision accompanies the located bed-hold allowance: the cost-reimbursement manual's Chapter 6 states the paid-leave allowance and its census coding only, and the Office of Long-Term Care's Rules for Nursing Homes (20 CAR Part 400, read in full for this row) states none. Capture pending, continuing the 2026-09-04 list: Arkansas Code § 20-10-1005 (the Legislature's code site remains unreached); a department page tying a § 400-2505 objection to the Office of Appeals and Hearings; that office's own filing address; Part 400, Appendix B; and now also a first-party statement, if one exists, addressing return to the facility after a paid leave of absence ends. Recipe: tools/recipes/arkansas.json is unchanged; the new source is a hand supplemental packet rather than a recipe source, because its host defeats every transport the recipe schema encodes. Internet Archive: not yet submitted for the new source. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter, reviewed 2026-09-20. Corrections: hello@fieldassembly.net.
2026-09-04 — Baseline page built from the first Arkansas packets: docket, lede, source map, change log. Not yet captured or written: section 01 (the grounds, as Arkansas describes them) and section 02 (the published process, including the notice's required contents in full, bed-hold and return, and the notice-periods register). Transports: the three Code sections and the ombudsman program site were fetched by curl with a browser user-agent through the capture recipe (tools/recipes/arkansas.json), by tag-stripping the body; the department's File an Appeal page was rendered in the session's browser and its text copied to a supplemental packet, because humanservices.arkansas.gov returns a bare nginx 403 to curl on every path and header set tried and the session fetch tool returns only the site's menus. That one source is a last-resort transport and is marked not re-verifiable. Findings: (1) codeofarrules.arkansas.gov, recorded on 2026-08-30 as failing TLS to curl from both the sandbox and the Mac, answered curl normally on 2026-09-04; the earlier failure is recorded as transient and the Code is captured by recipe. Its section addresses carry the site's own database identifiers, read from its tree-view endpoint. (2) The rule states two notice periods in the same current Part: thirty days at § 400-2505(b) and ten days for a transfer at § 400-411(7)(B). Both are quoted; neither is reconciled here. (3) The rendered text of § 400-2505 heads itself "6 CAR § 400-2505" where the page's title and citation read "20 CAR § 400-2505"; that is the publisher's text as served and is left as found. (4) The rule sends the appeal to the Secretary of the Department of Human Services within seven calendar days and names no office, address or form; the department's File an Appeal page prints the Office of Appeals and Hearings' address and email for the department's administrative hearings generally and does not mention nursing facilities. The hearing row quotes both and states that the connection between them is not stated in the sources reviewed. (5) The ombudsman program's own site prints no telephone number, address or email in its text; the state portal's ombudsman page (portal.arkansas.gov) and the department's Contact DAABHS page, both rendered in the browser, print none for the program either. The row states what the program publishes rather than supplying a number from a third party. (6) The department's Office of Appeals and Hearings page, rendered in the browser, describes the office and its chief and prints no filing address; it was not captured. Capture pending: per the source map. Internet Archive: not yet submitted. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter, reviewed 2026-09-04. Corrections: hello@fieldassembly.net.