Kansas
- Grounds stated in the sources
- Not stated in the sources reviewed. K.S.A. 39-936(g), the only captured Kansas provision governing an involuntary move, states a notice requirement and no grounds at all: it bars an involuntary transfer or discharge "unless the resident or legal guardian of the resident has been notified in writing at least 30 days in advance of a transfer or discharge of the resident." — "Except in emergencies as defined by rules and regulations of the licensing agency and except as otherwise authorized under federal law". The regulations that once stated the grounds, K.A.R. 28-39-147 and 28-39-148, appear in the Secretary of State's regulation volume as "28-39-147 and 28-39-148. (Authorized" — "Nov. 1, 1993; amended Feb. 21, 1997; revoked" — with a revocation date of May 22, 2009, and no replacement for nursing facilities was found in that volume. What the state's ombudsman office states, describing the federal law rather than a Kansas rule, is that a resident may "Remain in the nursing facility unless a transfer or discharge:" is necessary for the resident's welfare, is appropriate because the resident's health has improved, "is needed to protect the health and safety of other residents or staff;" or follows a failure to pay after reasonable notice.
- Notice stated in the sources
- Thirty days, from the statute: written notice to the resident or legal guardian "at least 30 days in advance", with an exception for emergencies as the licensing agency's regulations define them and for what federal law otherwise authorises. The statute states nothing about what the notice must contain. The ombudsman office states the federal content requirement — a resident should "Receive thirty-day notice of transfer or discharge which includes the reason, effective date, location to which the resident is transferred or discharged, the right to appeal, and the name, address, and telephone number of the state long-term care ombudsman".
- Hearing office in these sources
- Not stated in the sources reviewed. No captured Kansas source names an office, an address, a form or a deadline for appealing an involuntary transfer or discharge. The statute states the notice period and stops; the regulations that carried the transfer and discharge rights were revoked in 2009; the ombudsman office refers to "the right to appeal" as part of what the federal notice must state, and names no Kansas forum.
- Ombudsman in these sources
- The Office of the Long-Term Care Ombudsman, an office of its own rather than a programme inside a service agency. Its published contact: "Kansas Long-Term Care Ombudsman" at "900 SW Jackson, Suite 1041 Topeka, Kansas 66612", "Toll FREE: 1 (877) 662 - 8362". On this subject the office states: "Involuntary Discharge continues to be one of the top complaints that ombudsmen report here in Kansas and nationally."
- Sources last checked
- 2026-08-30
Reproduced from the agencies' own pages and documents quoted below — potentially relevant official sources, not a determination that any notice, ground, or deadline applies to any situation.
Lede
This page assembles what Kansas's own publishers state about involuntary transfer and discharge from an adult care home. It is a baseline page, and a thin one, because the state's own materials are thin. The fullest single source is one subsection of one statute, K.S.A. 39-936(g), which requires thirty days' written notice and says nothing else: no grounds, no contents, no appeal, no forum. Kansas's vocabulary is transferred from or discharged from an adult care home involuntarily.
The reason the page is short is worth stating plainly. Kansas once had regulations on this subject — K.A.R. 28-39-147 and 28-39-148 — and the Secretary of State's own regulation volume records them as revoked on May 22, 2009, printing the pair as a bare citation with no text under it. Nothing in that volume's nursing facility article replaces them. So what a Kansas resident has, in Kansas's own published law, is a thirty-day notice and an emergency exception defined by regulations that no longer exist for this purpose. The federal floor for Medicare/Medicaid-certified facilities is assembled separately on [the federal page](../federal.html); nothing here fills a gap from federal law or another state. Confirm applicability with the agencies named in the sources: whether any provision applies to a particular facility, resident, or notice is for the hearing office to determine. Deadlines and periods on this page are quoted from the sources, not calculated for any case.
Source map
| Document | Publisher and location | Source's own date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|
| K.S.A. 39-936 | Kansas Office of Revisor of Statutes | history line ends L. 2024, ch. 103, § 3; July 1 | 2026-08-30 |
| Kansas Administrative Regulations 2022, Book 2 — article 28-39 entries | Kansas Secretary of State (PDF) | 2022 volumes | 2026-08-30 |
| Involuntary Discharge | Office of the Long-Term Care Ombudsman | none stated on page | 2026-08-30 |
Captured: all three, in tools/packets/kansas-packet.txt. Pending: any current rule replacing the revoked regulations, a KDADS or KDHE statement of the appeal route and its deadline, the Medicaid fair-hearing route, and any statement of a bed-hold period — per the packet's pending list.
Change log
2026-08-30 — Baseline page built from the first Kansas packet: docket, lede, source map, change log. Not yet captured or written: section 01 (the grounds, as Kansas describes them) and section 02 (the published process, including the notice's required contents, bed-hold and return, and the notice-periods register). Findings: (1) The regulations that carried Kansas's transfer and discharge rights, K.A.R. 28-39-147 and 28-39-148, are recorded in the Secretary of State's 2022 regulation volume with a revocation date of May 22, 2009, and the nursing facility article in that volume contains no replacement. The grounds row and the hearing row therefore state absences. This is the first state in this index whose relevant regulation is recorded as revoked rather than merely uncaptured. (2) K.S.A. 39-936(g) states a thirty-day notice and no grounds, no required contents and no appeal. Its emergency exception is defined by reference to "rules and regulations of the licensing agency", which is the same body of regulations in which the transfer and discharge provisions were revoked; this page records that circularity rather than resolving it. (3) The state ombudsman office's statement of resident rights during transfer and discharge describes the federal Nursing Home Reform Law, and says so; it is quoted as that office's own description and is not treated as a statement of Kansas law. The federal enumeration stays on the federal page. (4) The Secretary of State's regulation volume prints in two columns, and pdftotext renders each printed line as one column's text followed by the other's, so quotations from that source are contiguous spans of the capture rather than of the printed column. The two spans quoted in the grounds row are short for that reason, and the revocation date is stated in prose rather than quoted, because the span carrying it in the capture also carries unrelated text from the adjoining column. (5) The ombudsman page defeats curl with a 403 and was captured with the session fetch tool. (6) No first-party statement of a Kansas Medicaid bed-hold period was captured. Capture pending: per the source map. Internet Archive: not yet submitted. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter, reviewed 2026-08-30. Corrections: hello@fieldassembly.net.